Innovation Pipeline

Innovation Pipeline
Innovation Hall of Fame inductees announced

Six people considered groundbreaking innovators in their respective fields comprise this year’s class of inductees into RIT’s Innovation Hall of Fame. Paul Taylor, Bruce Smith, John Schott, Jackie Pancari, Lynn Fuller and Robert Fabbio will be honored during a ceremony at 5:30 p.m. May 3 in Webb Auditorium followed by a reception in University Gallery.

Taylor, a deaf pioneer, was instrumental in developing the TTY and helping to create the first TTY network in the world. Bruce Smith, an RIT alumnus and director of RIT’s microsystem engineering program, is a respected leader in the nanolithography field. John Schott, the Frederick and Anna Wiedman Professor at RIT, is one of the founders of the imaging science program. The creative glassblowing techniques of artist Jackie Pancari have been exhibited around the world and she has taught her skills to students including those at RIT. RIT alumnus, professor and founder of RIT’s microelectronic engineering program Lynn Fuller is also among the inductees. Rounding out this year’s class is computer science graduate and serial entrepreneur Robert Fabbio. Fabbio is the CEO of WhiteGlove Health in Austin, Texas.

The Innovation Hall of Fame inducted its first class in 2010.

view full archive »