Tigers lead Atlantic Hockey in academic all-stars

RIT places 22 on all-academic squad; Kharin named to academic all-star team

Follow Steve Jaynes on Twitter
Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

The 2008–2009 RIT Tigers men’s hockey team

The Atlantic Hockey Association announced the 2009 All-Academic squad on Wednesday. RIT placed a league-high 22 players on this year’s all-academic squad, led by Anton Kharin, who was named to the association’s Academic All-Star Team.

Kharin, who graduated from RIT in three years, was awarded the Ellingson Award in early May at RIT’s awards banquet. The Ellingson Award honors a RIT student-athlete for academic and athletic excellence.

To qualify for the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team an individual must post a 3.0 grade point average or higher in all of the academic periods during which his team was actively competing. Atlantic Hockey’s Top Scholar Athlete is an award given annually to the player or players who achieve the highest grade-point average over the course of the academic semesters of competition.

The men’s hockey team posted a team GPA of 3.37, which was fourth highest amongst all intercollegiate athletic teams at RIT. It was the second highest men’s team GPA behind the men’s tennis squad. Among the honorees, eight were three-time honorees while three are two-time honorees.

For more, visit RIT Athletics.