Alan Nye Becomes Six-Time Winner of Society of Automotive Engineers Faculty Advisor Award

International award given in recognition of longtime support to student-engineers

Follow Michelle Cometa on Twitter
Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

Michelle Cometa

Alan Nye was awarded the 2009 Faculty Advisor Award from the Society of Automotive Engineers for his mentoring and academic support of student-engineers, particularly those like, Matt Smith (left), project manager for the RIT SAE Formula Racecar Team.

The Society of Automotive Engineers International recognized Alan Nye, professor at Rochester Institute of Technology, with the 2009 Faculty Advisor Award. This marks the sixth time the professor of mechanical engineering in the Kate Gleason College of Engineering has received the prestigious award.

“I am honored to receive this award from SAE, but I am more honored to work with the students that get involved with the design competition teams, particularly the Formula SAE RIT team,” says Nye, who has been advisor to the RIT chapter of SAE since 1978 and advisor to the RIT Formula SAE Racecar team since 1991. “Their involvement on this project gives them such a boost for their careers that it gives me tremendous pleasure just to be a part of it.”

Nye has received numerous awards for his role as mentor and advisor to the team as well as undergraduates in the college.

“Dr. Nye is not only supportive, but extremely generous,” says Kursten O’Neill, a fourth-year mechanical engineering student who is also a member of the Formula team. “The RIT Formula SAE Racing Team would not be the successful racing team it is today if it was not for Dr. Nye.”

The Faculty Advisor Award is given annually to college faculty who support and develop undergraduate engineering students, particularly acting as advisors to the collegiate automotive design series teams. The award was given at the 2010 SAE World Congress held April 13-15 in Detroit.