July 22, 2014
weather icon
Student-Athletes honored at 2009 Sports Banquet; track and field lone active sport Sports

On Monday night, May 11, the Center for Intercollegiate Athletics and Recreation held its 2008-09 Student-Athlete Awards Banquet at the Clark Gym on Monday, May 11. Nearly 500 RIT student-athletes from its 24 varsity athletics teams attended the event.

Below is a complete roster of award winners:

SAAC Appreciation Award – Mike D’Arcangelo – Director for Campus Life, Student Affairs
J. Roger Dykes Award (Sports Information) – Matt Austin, Baseball
Tiger Power Den Male Athlete of the Year – Scott Young, Men’s Basketball
Tiger Power Den Female Athlete of the Year – Larissa Harasymiak, Women’s Lacrosse
Comeback Athlete Award – Nick Lowe, Men’s Cross Country/Track and Field
Team Academic Excellence Award – Women’s Swimming and Diving
A. Stephen Walls Leadership Award – Jose Guzman, Men’s Tennis
Coaches Appreciation Award – Doni LaRock, Senior Interpreter, NTID/CIAR
Mark Ellingson Award (Academic Excellence) – Anton Kharin, Men’s Hockey
Female Senior Athlete of the Year – Emily Traversi, Women’s Soccer
Male Senior Athlete of the Year – Luke Baum, Wrestling

The men’s and women’s track and field teams are in action on Thursday and Friday at the ECAC Championships in Springfield, Mass. Next weekend (May 21-23) is the NCAA Championships held at Marietta College. The Tigers find out who goes to the NCAA’s on Monday, May 18. Ideally, the Tigers have a chance to qualify 10 men, which would be the most in some time.


Comments are closed.

Copyright © Rochester Institute of Technology
All Rights Reserved | Disclaimer | Copyright Infringement

Admin | Powered by WordPress | Theme by Pete Bella Jr. ’03
One Lomb Memorial Drive, Rochester, NY 14623-5603
Questions or comments? Send us feedback. Telephone: 585-475-2411

Entries RSS Comments RSS