Student Government honors award recipients

Three staff members recognized for exceptional work

Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

RIT’s Student Government held its year-end banquet May 4 and recognized three staff members for their dedicated service over the past academic year:

Student Government Extra Mile Award: This award is presented to a staff member or department that exemplifies the principles of outstanding and attentive service to students, above and beyond normal expectations. This year’s winner is Jane Hutchinson, the Off Campus and Apartment Student Association office manager. Hutchinson was nominated for her dedication, reliability and kindness towards staff and students.

President’s Award: The Student Government’s President Award acknowledges an individual or department that has gone to extraordinary lengths to support the efforts of Student Government. Gary Gasper, director of Student Alumni Union dining, is this year’s recipient. Gasper was selected for his strong commitment to students and willingness to support the improvement of student life on campus.

Club Advisor of the Year: Karen Barrows, chief of staff to RIT President Bill Destler, was selected as this year’s winner for the work she has done advising RIT’s Field Hockey Club. Barrows was nominated by members of the club, who say she knows how to help challenge the group and support their decisions without getting in the way of the leadership process.