Kearse Awards presentation highlights excellence in student writing

Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

A. Sue Weisler

James Winebrake, front row center-right, College of Liberal Arts dean, joins the 2011 winners of the Henry and Mary Kearse Student Honors Awards.

The College of Liberal Arts honored student achievement in writing with the presentation of the 2011 Henry and Mary Kearse Student Honors Awards on April 20. The program recognizes students from across the university for their excellence in liberal arts coursework. Faculty members recommend students based on writing assignments done in individual classes.

The winners receive a certificate and a cash prize. This year’s recipients are: Nicolas Eckerson from the Center for Multidisciplinary Studies; Andrew Garland and Perry Hosmer from the Kate Gleason College of Engineering; Cassaundra Hobbs, Melissa Huang, Patricia Johnson, Michael Serra and Benjamin Vanderberg from the College of Imaging Arts and Sciences; Michael Carpenter and Timothy Marshall from the B. Thomas Golisano College of Computing and Information Sciences; Christopher Boone, Haley Clint, Christine Hartman, Susan Kennan, Frank Mulé, Caitlyn Purdy, Allison Rabent, Douglas Strouth and Shane Williams from the College of Liberal Arts; Nicholas Alman from the E. Philip Saunders College of Business and the College of Liberal Arts; and James Oleksyn, Sebastian Ramirez and Bradley Wright from the College of Science.

The ceremony also included a lecture presented by Benjamin Lawrance, Barber B. Conable Jr. Chair in International Studies, titled “Expertise and the Humanities: The University, Slavery, and La Amistad.”

The awards were created in 1980 thanks to a donation from Henry J. Kearse, founder and president of the construction firm H.J. Kearse Inc., and his wife, Mary, a longtime member of RIT’s Nathaniel Rochester Society.