RIT Orchestra To Perform First Concert of 2011–2012 Season

Free concert starts at 8 p.m. Nov. 7

Follow Vienna Carvalho-McGrain on Twitter
Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

The Rochester Institute of Technology Orchestra will present its first concert of the 2011–2012 season starting at 8 p.m. Nov. 7, in Allen Chapel, the Kilian J. and Caroline F. Schmitt Interfaith Center.

The concert—free and open to the public—will include performances of Edward Elgar’s Sospiri, Op. 70 and Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9 in E Minor “From the New World.”

“The RIT Orchestra is currently exploring the influence of regional folk, sacred and popular music on the orchestral repertoire,” says Michael Ruhling, professor of fine arts/music and music director of the RIT Orchestra. “This concert, featuring Antonín Dvořák’s most famous piece, the Symphony No. 9 ‘From the New World,’ reflects the multifaceted American voice combined with Bohemian color. Dvořák was a master of the symphonic form. While each movement has its own material and character, Dvořák revisits themes from each movement in all subsequent movements. By recalling themes in this way, Dvořák demonstrates for the audience the connections between each movement, thereby solidifying the four-movement structure as one complete work of art.”

The RIT Orchestra, formed in 1981, includes students and Rochester community members and performs orchestral works from circa 1600 to the present.

For more information about the concert, contact Ruhling at 585-475-2054 or Michael.Ruhling@rit.edu.

WHAT: Fall Concert
WHO: RIT Orchestra
WHEN: 8 p.m. Nov. 7
WHERE: Allen Chapel, the Kilian J. and Caroline F. Schmitt Interfaith Center, RIT campus