RIT Film and Animation Student Brings Home 10th Princess Grace Award for School

Shreyasi Das awarded Princess Grace Film Honorarium for 2011

Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

Princess Grace Foundation-USA has awarded Rochester Institute of Technology student Shreyasi Das a 2011 Princess Grace Film Honorarium.

Das, a fourth-year student in RIT’s School of Film and Animation, was awarded an honorarium for her film Dissonance. The film is a 3-D animation about a robot in a room full of orderly clocks.

The Princess Grace Foundation is dedicated to identifying and assisting emerging talent in theater, dance and film by providing grants, apprenticeships and fellowships.

“Shreyasi being named an honorarium is the culmination of a lot of hard work and dedication during her time here at the School of Film and Animation,” says Malcolm Spaull, administrative chair of RIT’s School of Film and Animation. “Shreyasi’s name is now on a very prestigious list of RIT students to be recognized by the Princess Grace Foundation.”

As part of the honorarium, the foundation awarded Das a $4,000 scholarship to continue her thesis work. Also, RIT was awarded a $400 organizational grant as part of the award.

“It feels great to be recognized for the work I have done over the past three years,” says Das. “I think the best part about this is that the Princess Grace Foundation saw enough potential in my proposed thesis film to grant me this honor. It made me more confident and excited about working on my thesis.”

Das is the 10th filmmaker in 12 years from RIT to be recognized by the Princess Grace Foundation.

“We are delighted to welcome Shreyasi into the group of distinguished award winners who epitomize the excellence for which the Princess Grace Award is known,” says Toby Boshak, executive director of Princess Grace Foundation.

Other past film recipients of the Princess Grace Award outside of the RIT community include Stephen Hillenburg, creator of SpongeBob SquarePants; Greg Mottola, director of Adventureland and Superbad; and Cary Joji Fukunaga, writer and director of Sin Nombre.