Isaac L. Jordan Faculty Pluralism Award nominations sought

Newest diversity award will be presented during outstanding teaching and scholarship celebration

Follow Michelle Cometa on Twitter
Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2012 Isaac L. Jordan Faculty Pluralism Award. The award recognizes faculty contributions to enhance diversity and inclusion at RIT as well as the local community.

Nomination packets are available online and must be received by March 2. To be considered for the award, faculty must have been employed by RIT for a minimum of three years of continuous services as a regular (full-time, part-time or extended part-time) employee.

Prior to this year, nominees for the Isaac L. Jordan Award were both faculty and staff. This is the first year that two separate awards will be given, one each to faculty and staff. Winners will each receive a $1,000 cash prize and statuette of a flame, representing the spirit of diversity at RIT.

The award, now 10 years old, is named after the late Isaac. L. Jordan, the first chairman of the President’s Commission on Pluralism and Inclusion (formerly known, when Jordan led the organization, as the Commission for Promoting Pluralism).

Completed nomination packets can be sent to Matthew Lynn, chairman of the awards committee, Gosnell Hall, Room A168 or via e-mail to