athenaeum logo

Alumni receive Isaiah Thomas Award in Publishing

Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

A group of seven RIT alumni who have won a combined 11 Pulitzer Prizes were this year’s recipients of the RIT Isaiah Thomas Award in Publishing. This year’s recipients are all graduates from RIT’s College of Imaging Arts and Sciences.

Winners are (above, left to right) Ken Geiger ’11, Dan Loh ’95, Robert Bukaty ’82, Anthony Suau ’78, William Snyder ’81, Paul Benoit ’76 and Stan Grossfeld ’73.

The Isaiah Thomas Award in Publishing, named for one of America’s great patriot printers, recognizes outstanding contributions made to the publishing industry. The honor is presented annually by RIT’s School of Print Media.

The seven recipients were honored during a ceremony Sept. 22 at the Newseum in Washington, D.C.

“This group of distinguished photojournalists has demonstrated significant career achievements in the news media industry,” says Twyla Cummings, the Paul and Louise Miller Distinguished Professor at RIT. “By bestowing them with the Isaiah Thomas Award in Publishing, it further highlights the caliber of their journalistic work and their significant contributions to the industry. It was exciting to honor them at the Newseum as it aligns with the tradition and spirit that Isaiah Thomas symbolized.”