athenaeum logo

RIT honors outstanding professors of the year

Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

Teaching excellence has been formally recognized at RIT since 1965, when the Awards for Outstanding Teaching and their accompanying ceremony were established.

The late M. Herbert Eisenhart, former president and board chairman of Bausch & Lomb Inc., was a member of RIT’s Board of Trustees for more than 50 years. His contributions to RIT during that span were countless, and he was the recipient of the RIT Founders Awards in 1971. His commitment to RIT was further evidenced by his generous bequest that created the M. Herbert and Elsa Bausch Eisenhart Endowment Fund, which provides permanence to the Eisenhart Awards for Outstanding Teaching as well as a major scholarship fund.

Meet this year’s recipients of the Eisenhart Award for Outstanding Teaching and the Richard and Virginia Eisenhart Provost’s Award for Excellence in Teaching:

Clifford Wun: Art professor teaches students to draw on life’s lessons

Richard Cliver: Learning takes place in class and at The Cliver House

Lynn Fuller: Micro-e founder influences a global industry

Benjamin Banta: Political science professor sees teaching as a calling