Student Affairs awards recognize outstanding service

RIT staff and faculty members embody the mission and goals of Student Affairs

Follow Scott Bureau on Twitter
Follow RITNEWS on Twitter

RIT’s Division of Student Affairs has recognized faculty and staff for exceptional contributions to the university and its students during its Outstanding Service Awards ceremony in April.

Awards were presented based upon student affairs core values of inclusiveness, collaboration, student development, student success and communication.

Outstanding Service Award winners are:

Wendy Gilmore, coordinator of supplemental instruction and tutor training, won the New Staff Outstanding Service Award, for exceptional staff member who has fewer than five years in his or her field

Carol Giuliano, clubs budget assistant in the Center for Campus Life, won the Outstanding Support Service Award, given for exceptional staff support

Carolyn DeHority, counselor in the Counseling Center, received the Excellence in Service Award

Patrick Walsh won the Vice President’s Award for Excellence in Wellness Programming for his ongoing Mindfulness Meditation program in the Counseling Center.

The Residence Life Wellness Team also won the Vice President’s Award for Excellence in Wellness Programming for its Well-O-Ween program, a Halloween-themed wellness class sampler. Team members include Cha Ron Sattler, Greg Moss, Jennifer Lewis, Colette Shaw, Stephanie Bauschard, Tim Keady and Marc Goldman

David Martins, associate professor and writing program director, received the Faculty Award for Promoting Learning Outside of the Classroom. The award is given to faculty members outside of the division who contribute to student development and success through support in activities outside the classroom

Marian Nicoletti, senior associate director of Undergraduate Admissions, won the Outstanding University Partner Award, given to a member of the university outside of student affairs who has provided exceptional help or support to the achievement of the mission and goals of student affairs

The ceremony also recognized various student affairs teams who collaborate to work across administrative boundaries.

“We are proud to have so many high-functioning teams across the division who highlight the talents of so many individuals in student affairs,” says Mary-Beth Cooper, senior vice president for Student Affairs.

Teams awarded the Cross Departmental Collaborative Team Recognition include:

Higher Education Opportunity Program Summer Curriculum Team, with members Belinda Bryce, Maria Vega, Brad Rosenbaum, Bruce Pennington, Justyna Oldziej, Andy Perry, Maggie Everhart Wegman, Daniele Brown, Jodi Boita, Fjorentina Angjellari-Dajci, David Martins and Dianna Winslow

Student Affairs Quarter to Semester Conversion Team, with members Heath Boice-Pardee, Kim Vent, Latty Goodwin, Colleen Johnson, Scott McVean, Carol Reed, Darci Williams-Lane, Carolyn DeHority, Sue Ackerman, Stan VanHorn, Belinda Bryce, Patti DiPassio, Molly McGowan, Roberta DiNoto, Shawna Lusk, Jeff Hering, Chuck Lamb, Joshua Bauroth, Joe Johnston, Brooke Durland, Dave Watson and Donna Rubin

Student Affairs Financial Literacy Wellness Team, with members Dan Millikin, Bernadette Lynch, Mike Kane, Troy Robinson, Kathy Routly, Carol Reed, Dave Warth and Karbara Maxey

RIT/NTID Community of Practice Team, with members Laurie Ackles, M. Lynne Morley, Kara Leonard and Susan Ackerman

Deaf Greek Task Force, with members Robb Adams, Dan Millikin, Heath Boice-Pardee, Dawn Soufleris, Joe Johnston, Ryan Giglia, Debbye Byrne, Karey Pine and Eyob Zerayesus

Multicultural Greek Task Force, with members Kevin McDonald, Tomicka Wagstaff, Monica Smalls, Stephanie Paredes, Ryan Giglia, Heath Boice-Pardee, Dawn Soufleris, Keith Jenkins, Alvin Boyd, Karey Pine and Kelly Lenis