Student essays published on environmental magazine website




Follow Marie Lang on Twitter
Follow RITNEWS on Twitter
201510/egypt.jpg

Supplied image

Zyad Abdelaziz was one of the students published in Orion Magazine’s “The Place Where You Live” series. Abdelaziz wrote about Cairo, Egypt.

Nearly 30 students in Joel Helfrich’s “Introduction to Environmental Studies” class had their essays published online as part of Orion Magazine’s “The Place Where You Live” series. The students were assigned to write an essay of 350 words about their hometown and were encouraged to submit it to the bimonthly environmental magazine.

“I have found that once students are able to publish an essay online or a letter to the editor of a newspaper, they tend to appreciate the value of writing and want to participate more in the intellectual and public debates within society,” said Helfrich, an adjunct professor in the College of Liberal Arts.

The essays are available online but may be published in a future print edition of the magazine. The following students were published:

Zyad Abdelaziz, Cairo, Egypt: https://orionmagazine.org/place/cairo-egypt/

Robert Aguilera, Rochester, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/rochester-new-york-2/

Manish Budhathoki, Kathmandu, Nepal: https://orionmagazine.org/place/kathmandu-nepal/

Emily Bush, Daphne, Ala.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/daphne-alabama/

Ishan Chhabra, New Delhi, India: https://orionmagazine.org/place/new-delhi-india/

Jarod Christofferson, Lansing, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/lansing-new-york/

Kenneth Cirigliano, Brewster, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/brewster-new-york/

Mallory Cross, San Fernando Valley, Calif.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/san-fernando-valley-california/

Chris Flemming, Woburn, Mass.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/woburn-massachusetts/

Thomas Flynn, Elkins Park, Pa.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/elkins-park-pennsylvania/

Michael Fonseca, New York, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/new-york-new-york/

Piper Gasiorowski, Milwaukee, Wis.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/milwaukee-wisconsin/

Anthony Guella, Tanner Park, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/tanner-park-new-york/

Alexander Kean, Shortsville, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/shortsville-new-york/

Dustin Knowlton, Bloomfield, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/bloomfield-new-york/

Melissa Koch, Gates, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/gates-new-york/

Megan Owens, Rock Hill, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/rock-hill-new-york/

Siobhain Page, Manchester, N.H.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/manchester-new-hampshire/

Evan Rosenberg, McAllen, Texas: https://orionmagazine.org/place/mcallen-texas/

Cassie Schwach, Buffalo, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/buffalo-new-york/

Trevor Seiders, Vernon-Rockville, Conn.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/vernon-rockville-connecticut/

Django Skorupa, Wendell, Mass.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/wendell-massachusetts/

Sierra Skorupski, Bennington, Vt.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/bennington-vermont/

Luca Tifone, Mendon, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/mendon-new-york/

Martin Tobin, Marcellus, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/marcellus-new-york/

Josue Vasquez, Buffalo, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/hertel-avenue-buffalo-new-york/

David Walls, Spencer, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/spencer-new-york/

Ryan Walter, Warwick, N.Y.: https://orionmagazine.org/place/warwick-new-york/

Santiago Zurbia, Cancun, Mexico: https://orionmagazine.org/place/cancun-mexico/

201510/egypt.jpg

Supplied image

Zyad Abdelaziz was one of the students published in Orion Magazine’s “The Place Where You Live” series. Abdelaziz wrote about Cairo, Egypt.