Department of Philosophy Resources

Department Newsletters

Upcoming Courses

These are upcoming philosophy courses planned for 2020-2021. Offerings are subject to change.

PHIL  201    Ancient Philosophy  TR 11:00-12:15 p.m.    Silvia Benso
PHIL 202 Foundations of Moral Philosophy TR 12:30-1:45 p.m. Colin Mathers
PHIL 205 Symbolic Logic MWF 10:00-10:50 a.m John Capps
PHIL 301 Philosophy of Religion TR 12:30-1:45pm Brian Schroeder
PHIL 304 Philosophy of Law T 5:00-7:50 p.m. Wade Robison
PHIL 306 Professional Ethics Online   John Sanders
PHIL 308 Environmental Philosophy TR 9:30-10:45 a.m. Evelyn Brister
PHIL 312 American Philosophy TR 9:30-10:45 a.m. Timothy Engstrom
PHIL 402 Philosophy of Science Online   John Sanders
PHIL 403 Social and Political Philosophy TR 11:00-12:15 p.m. Lawrence Torcello
PHIL 411 Metaphysics MW_75    3:30-4:45 p.m. Jesus Aguilar
PHIL 412 19th Century Philosophy TR 2:00-3:15 p.m. Katie Terezakis
PHIL 416 Seminar: Appearance and Reality    TR 3:30-4:45 p.m. John Sanders


PHIL  202     Foundations of Moral Philosophy     MW_75     5:00-6:15 p.m. Jesus Aguilar
PHIL 203 Mordern Philosophy MWF 10:00-10:50 a.m.  John Capps
PHIL 205 Symbolic Logic TR 2:00-3:15 p.m. Colin Mathers
PHIL 305 Philosophy of Peace TR 9:30-10:45 a.m. Evan Selinger
PHIL 306 Social and Political Theory   Online   John Sanders
PHIL 307 Philosophy of Technology TR 12:30-1:45 p.m. Evan Selinger
PHIL 318 Renaissance Philosophy   TR 11:00-12:15 p.m.   Silvia Benso
PHIL 401 Great Thinkers: Richard Rorty   TR 9:30-10:45 a.m.  Timothy Engstrom
PHIL 405 Philosophy of the Social Sciences    TR 2:00-3:15 p.m. Evelyn Brister
PHIL 407 Philosophy of Action MW_75  3:00-4:15 p.m. Jesus Aguilar
PHIL 409 Existentialism TR 2:00-3:15 p.m. Katie Terezakis
PHIL 415 Ethical Theory TR 11:00-12:15 p.m. Lawrence Torcello
PHIL 416 Seminar MW_75 5:00-6:15 p.m. Irina Mikhalevich
PHIL 417 Continental Philosophy TR 12:30-1:45 p.m. Brian Schroeder


Faculty Teaching Awards

The Philosophy Department is motivated by a dedication to excellence in teaching. Most of our faculty have received teaching awards, and many of our faculty have received multiple teaching awards. The Eisenhart Award for Outstanding Teaching is RIT’s highest tribute to successful pedagogy, and the Department of Philosophy is home to nine of these awards.

  • John T. Sanders (1979-1980)
  • James I. Campbell (1991-1992)
  • Timothy Engström (1993-1994)
  • Dane R. Gordon (1996-1997)
  • James I. Campbell (1999-2000)
  • John T. Sanders (2000-2001)
  • David B. Suits (2002-2003)
  • Timothy Engström (2007-2008)
  • Katie Terezakis (2014-2015)

Faculty Scholarship Awards

The Philosophy Department is also motivated by a strong commitment to scholarship, as evidenced by the scholarly activities of the individual members of the Department, by the Department’s speaker series and colloquia, and by the scholarship awards which have been won. Each year Paul A. and Francena L. Miller Fellowships are awarded to assist faculty in the College of Liberal Arts in the pursuit of their scholarly and professional projects. The Department of Philosophy has been the home of eleven of these prestigious Fellowships.

  • Timothy Engström (2002-2003)
  • Brian Schroeder (2003-2004)
  • John Capps (2005-2006)
  • Evan Selinger (2007-2008)
  • Katie Terezakis (2009-2010)
  • Jesús Aguilar (2009-2010)
  • John T. Sanders (2012-2013)
  • Brian Schroeder (2013-2014)
  • Lawrence Torcello (2014-2015)
  • Jesús Aguilar (2015-2016)
  • Silvia Benso (2018-2019)

Ezra A. Hale Chair in Applied Ethics

The Hale Chair in Applied Ethics is devoted to research and teaching in ethics within and about the professional disciplines. The holder of the Chair is Wade L. Robison.

The Chair sponsors the Hale Ethics Series, occasional lectures and conferences throughout the academic year, and helpful material on ethics, including booksvideos and links on various aspects of ethics. The Hale Chair is the founding President of the Society for Ethics Across the Curriculum and has written and lectured extensively on issues in professional ethics.