Justin Smith wins Doolittle Merrill Award

Susan Tontarski

Justin Smith

Biomedical science major Justin Smith received the 2010 Doolittle Merrill Award from the College of Science.

The annual Doolittle Merrill Award was established in honor of Kathryne A. Freckleton and Karl Staud, and is named for RIT professors Richard Doolittle and Douglas Merrill. The award recognizes third-year students with a passion for pre-veterinary or pre-medical studies.

“It is an honor to be recognized as a student who shows a passion for the field of medicine,” Smith says. “It is also an honor to have my name associated with professors of high caliber such as Dr. Merrill and Dr. Doolittle. To me, the award is a recognition of my hard work inside and outside the classroom through my first three years at RIT, as well as a recognition of the people who have supported me along the way.”

Smith plans to pursue a career in pediatrics.


Recommended News