2020-2021 Academic Calendar

FALL SEMESTER 2020 (Term ID: 2201)
August 19 (Wednesday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of Add/Drop period †
August 22 Saturday classes begin
August 26 (Wednesday) Last day of Add/Drop period †
August 27 First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
September 7 (Monday) Labor Day - University OPEN; classes in session
November 3 (Tuesday) Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
November 24 (Tuesday) Last day, evening, and online classes
November 25 No classes - University closes at 2 p.m.
November 26-27 Thanksgiving Holiday - University closed
November 30 Reading Day
Dec. 1,2,3,4,7,8 Final exams
December 11 (Friday) Final grades due
Back to Top
 
SPRING SEMESTER 2021 (Term ID: 2205)*
January 11 (Monday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of Add/Drop period †
January 16 Saturday classes begin
January 18 Martin Luther King Jr. Day - no classes - University open
January 19 (Tuesday) Last day of Add/Drop period †
January 20 First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
March 8-14 Spring Break - University open
March 13 No Saturday classes
March 15 Day, evening, and online classes resume
March 20 Saturday classes resume
April 23 Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
April 24 Last Saturday classes
April 26 (Monday) Last day, evening, and online classes
April 27 Reading Day
April 28,29,30, May 3,4,5 Final exams
May 7 (Friday) Final grades due
May 7 (Friday) Convocation and Commencement ceremonies
May 8 (Saturday) Commencement ceremonies
May 7-12 Break between Spring Semester and Summer Term
Back to Top
 
12-week SUMMER Term 2021 (Term ID: 2208)*
May 13 (Thursday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of Add/Drop period †
May 15 Saturday classes begin
May 20 (Thursday) Last day to Add/Drop classes
May 21 (Friday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
May 31 (Monday) Memorial Day - University closed
July 5 (Monday) Independence Day observed - University closed
July 16 (Friday) Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
July 31 Last Saturday classes
August 4 (Wednesday) Last day, evening, and online classes
August 5 Reading Day
August 6,9,10 Final exams
August 12 (Thursday) Final grades due
August 12-23 Break between Summer Term and Fall Semester
Back to Top
 
6-week SUMMER Term 2021 (Term ID: 2208) (1st six weeks)
May 13 (Thursday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of Add/Drop period
May 15 Saturday classes begin
May 17 (Monday) Last day to Add/Drop classes
May 18 (Tuesday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
May 31 (Monday) Memorial Day - University closed
June 14 (Tuesday) Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
June 19 Last Saturday classes
June 23 (Wednesday) Last day of classes
June 24, 25 Final exams
June 28 (Monday) Final grades due
Back to Top
 
6-week SUMMER Term 2021 (Term ID: 2208) (2nd six weeks)
June 28 (Monday) Day, evening, and online classes begin
First day of Add/Drop period
June 30 (Wednesday) Last day to Add/Drop classes
July 1 (Thursday) First day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
July 5 (Monday) Independence Day observed - University closed
July 27 (Wednesday) Last day to drop from classes with a grade of "W"
August 4 (Wednesday) Last day, evening, and online classes
August 5 Reading Day
August 6,9,10 Final exams
August 12 (Thursday) Final grades due
August 12-23 Break between Summer Term and Fall Semester
Back to Top
 
FALL SEMESTER 2021 (Term ID: 2211)
August 23, 2021 Day, evening, and online classes begin
September 6 (Monday) Labor Day - no classes - University closed

† The Add/Drop period is the first seven class days of the Fall, Spring, and full Summer terms, excluding Sundays and holidays​.

* Tentative Spring semester and Summer term schedule. RIT reserves the right to update the Spring and Summer schedule.

Revised 6/12/2020