Leaders announced for RIT governance groups

The new vice president and president of Student Government will be Liam Megraw, left, and Anika Aftab, respectively.

Recent elections were held for the governance bodies at Rochester Institute of Technology. Each is empowered to bring forth issues of importance to the university for deliberation, such as policy proposals, plans for new initiatives and operational concerns.

  • Heidi Nickisher, principal lecturer in the College of Art and Design, is chair of RIT’s Academic Senate, with Tim Engstrom, professor in the Department of Philosophy in the College of Liberal Arts, serving as vice chair. Their term begins after convocation.
  • Cathy Clarke, web developer-programmer at the National Technical Institute for the Deaf, is chair of RIT’s Staff Council, with Lindsay Vallone, academic advisor in the College of Engineering Technology, serving as vice chair. They are continuing their roles for a second year – a special circumstance because the Staff Council coordinator is retiring in the fall. Their term will last until May 31, 2020.
  • And next year’s Student Government president will be Anika Aftab, of West Hempstead, N.Y. She is graduating with a bachelor’s degree in applied arts and sciences and will return to RIT in the fall to pursue a master’s degree. The Student Government vice president will be Liam Megraw, currently a third-year environmental science major from Mantua, Ohio. Their term begins June 1.